Astrological Aspects

How many times have you started to read an article or a book and you seem to be reading the same phrase over and over again, your eyes glaze over and your eyelids feel heavy?

This used to happen to me when I read astrology books and magazines and before I was formally taught astrology. I would read astrological information that just didn’t make sense and made me think I was reading gobbledygook, with all these words I hadn’t heard of before and symbols that meant diddley-squat to me.

I now know that it was the astrological aspects that I was attempting to read and understand, for readers who may not be familiar with this area of astrologer, I shall attempt to explain briefly here what it is and why the aspects are so unique to each and every one of us, so …

An aspect is the term given when two planets are at a particular angular distance to each other in the Natal Chart. When planets are in aspect to each other, the energies of the planets involved effect one another according to the nature of the planets involved and the nature of the aspect created. If you have a natal chart usually at the bottom corner underneath the image of the chart, there is a grid, and this shows the aspects formed within your natal chart.

Are you still with me, or are your eyelids feeling heavy? if you are still with me then perhaps you want to read on…

The major aspects in astrology are listed here along with their symbol and the distance between the aspects:

glyphs for blog 16

If like me you may have a block with numbers you can also think of the aspects in the following ways;

Conjunction in the same sign, Sextile two signs apart, Square three signs apart, Trine four signs apart, and Opposition six signs apart.

Are you still with me or have you drifted off? if you are still with me here is a tiny bit more information plus some examples.

Having talked about the terms of the major aspects and seeing what the symbols look like here is what their energies reveal:

  • Conjunction is variable (depending on the planets involved)
  • Sextile is harmonious
  • Square is challenging
  • Trine is harmonious
  • Opposition is challenging.

To finish off here are some flesh and blood examples taken from the natal charts of some of the subjects in ‘Compass Of The Stars’.

glyphs for blog 16 (2)

The interpretations can be found in the text of the chapters… (the book will hopefully be out at the end of the year)

I hope that you, like me, will find the exploration of your aspects in your chart insightful and empowering.

And to all astrologers who may be reading this, apologies if feels like I am getting you to suck eggs !

Leave a Reply

