Sun Sign Glyphs and Their Planetary Rulers

In Western astrology each sign of The Zodiac has a planetary ruler, which starts with Aries which is ruled by Mars and finishes with Pisces which is ruled by Neptune.

blog 12 glyphs

The above table shows the glyphs (symbols used by astrologers for signs, planets and asteroids) for the twelve signs of the Zodiac and their planetary rulers:_

Aries ruled by Mars

Taurus ruled by Venus

Gemini ruled by Mercury

Cancer ruled by Moon

Leo ruled by Sun

Virgo ruled by Mercury

Libra ruled by Venus

Scorpio ruled by Pluto

Sagittarius ruled by Jupiter

Capricorn ruled by Saturn

Aquarius ruled by Uranus

Pisces ruled by Neptune

Before Pluto, Uranus and Neptune were discovered each of the planets with the exception of the luminaries (Sun and Moon) governed two signs each.

So, in what is termed Horary Astrology and Traditional Astrology:

Mars governed both Aries and Scorpio –the latter now ruled by Pluto.

Saturn governed both Capricorn and Aquarius-the latter now ruled by Uranus.

Jupiter governed both Sagittarius and Pisces-the latter now ruled by Pisces.

So in what is today termed Modern Astrology, we can see that both Mercury and Venus still govern two signs each:

Mercury: Gemini and Virgo

Venus: Taurus and Libra.

So now you know …if you didn’t already !





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s