Solstice times, 2016

The Sun has now moved from Gemini into the sign of Cancer and it is Midsummer. Many moons ago (excuse the pun-Cancer being ruled by the Moon !) when I was a child, I was  puzzled about why this sign of the Zodiac should  be named after  a disease ( so I thought).

In my little mind it just didn’t make sense. To me it seemed strange and foreboding somehow, and I used to think  does that mean people who are born at the Summer Solstice h  until the Sun moved into Leo , were all destined to live with Cancer at some point in their lives?  It just seemed plain creepy and cruel  to me. Thank goodness for the blessings of knowledge and time!

I learned that the astrological signs of Cancer and Capricorn came first and that the Tropics of Cancer and Capricorn were so called because they represented the extreme points of the Sun on earth ( both high and low in the sky) which occur at the Solstices, when the Sun enters Cancer at the Summer Solstice and Capricorn at the Winter Solstice.

In the first century B.C.  the Greek astrologer and doctor Hippocrates named several diseases with the term ‘cancer’ and the astrology  sign  of Cancer had already been around some 3,000 years earlier .

So all in all I reckon that clever man Hippocrates must have been very observant in his experience and observations about medical astrology.  Why else  is  the  term The Hippocratic Oath (that doctors still take to this very day) still used? And as for me and my confusion about the term of Cancer in the Zodiac …well one lives and learns eh?

 

Leave a Reply

